Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin , former member of Parliament for the Nadowli Kaleo constituency of the NDC has been elected Speaker of the 8th Parliament of the Fourth Republic of Ghana.

He won a chaotic, closely contested secret ballot in the Chamber of Parliament on Thursday ,7th January 2021 against former Speaker, Prof Aaron Mike Oquaye.

The opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) proposed Alban Bagbin as their choice candidate for the Speaker of Parliament while the New Patriotic Party (NPP) proposed Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye who served as Speaker for the 7th Parliament; 2017 to 2021.

One of the oldest serving MPs polled 138 votes against his predecessors 136 with one legislator failing to vote.

The election process, which started moments after 12:00am January 7, ran through the dawn to about 6:00am in the morning before the results were declared.